DPRK: The Land Of Whispers

10 Jun

DPRK-The-Land-of-the-WhispersI’m ambivalent about the notion of visiting North Korea, and I wish the 1000-2000 foreign tourists who go there every year wouldn’t make a group tour sound like an experience. I would welcome closure – the chance to connect faces and scenery to the voices of intelligence targets I monitored. But, I couldn’t square handing over my savings to an odious government that commits so much brutality and illegality, as well as generally being quite twisted.

The director/producer/star of DPRK: The Land of Whispers admits to this ambivalence as well.

It was a tricky process because I wanted to make sure everyone in North Korea stays safe. I wanted to make sure that the people who assisted with my travel/film don’t get negatively affected and, at the same time, I wanted to be honest and truthful about my thoughts and experience. That’s nearly impossible when I got such extremely different views on each end of the spectrum, but I am really proud of the good balance I feel I was able to achieve in the film. I still stand by the film fully and I feel it was as objective as possible, especially considering the circumstances.

So, forgive me, but I hope this post about this movie doesn’t inspire any readers to visit North Korea.

One Response to “DPRK: The Land Of Whispers”

  1. sbruso180 13 June 2013 at 11:53 am #

    I have seen a lot of documentaries on North Korea, but this is by far one of the most interesting. The POV is unique and I was hooked right away. I think the debate of whether to visit North Korea or not is a tricky one at best.

Leave a Reply

