Rebooting

30 Jan

Buddhism and meditation were two items I was interested in, say 1999, when I first came to Busan after my two years in the Army. Ironically, my wife and mother-in-law put paid to any naive notions I had about Buddhism. Why go to a temple, both stared at me incredulously? Are you ill? Do you have a child taking a test? The only reason profound enough to compel most South Koreans to a temple is, to pay a little bribe to the monks that they will pray for your gout to clear up or your kid to become a test-taking genius in a week.

But, fine, Robert Wright and Gary Weber, I’ll consider, that meditation can spark creativity through inaction. Well, not right now.

Leave a Reply

