Teddy and Michelle at the DNC (Updated with Video)

26 Aug

My initial response to both the Michelle Obama and Ted Kennedy speeches (and related introductions): the Dems flirted with mawkishness, but might just convince Democrat and independent rank-and-file that the Dems are human first, political animals second. I was impressed with Michelle Obama’s performance, with its hint of a tremulous voice. I can imagine how the Republicans will mock the abundance, in David Brooks’ terms (I was watching the PBS coverage), how she failed to downplay her husband’s messiah status, but I thought she and her daughters were genuine. The Republicans risk throttling up the scorn and satire.

One further reflection: Michelle’s performance leads me to believe, that Barack’s personal history has created a unique politician sui generis. But, it is Michelle’s personality, with her family history, that grounds and motivates him.

Kennedy’s performance was also emotional, in the sense, that the Kennedy sentinel has so little time left, and at times he seemed doddering.

, , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

10 Responses to “Teddy and Michelle at the DNC (Updated with Video)”

  1. OMAR 26 August 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    Kennedy had a 30 minute intro for an 8 minute speech.
    Michelle was impressive.
    My take a shot every time someone mentioned “hope” drinking game was great fun.

  2. Bal(t)imoron 26 August 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    @ OMAR:

    Are you saying it’s a little much of a line after eight years of fear-mongering? I expect Clinton to tie “the Man from Hope” with the meme tomorrow night.

  3. OMAR 26 August 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    I really was playing a drinking game while watching the convention, so I fail to understand your question. Perhaps that will clear up tomorrow.

    To clarify, Uncle Teddy was built up, made his appearance and was pretty much on par for what I expected.

    Michelle knocked it out of the park. She hit point after point of things I would normally use against the Obamas. She was convincing in her love of America, gave a much needed shout-out to Hillary and was on point the entire time. I had most of her speech in advance, yet was unprepared for her ability to draw in the audience. I think she helped Barack in a substantial way if anyone was watching.

  4. Bal(t)imoron 26 August 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    @OMAR:
    I agree. I must be anticipating GOP talking points already.

  5. Brendan 26 August 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    I like the new look of the blog. Seems to load a lot faster, too.

    And thanks for getting rid of the comment sign-in procedure.

  6. Bal(t)imoron 26 August 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    @Brendan:
    I got a handle on the security thing – “knock on wood!”

    Now, if only I can cultivate an audience for East Asian geopolitics and the occasional book review!

  7. Brendan 26 August 2008 at 9:43 pm #

    Just mention Madonna in your posts. People will come for he sex and stay for the foreign policy, or so I’m told.

    Seems to be working for me: my latest post has already caused Google’s servers to overload twice.

  8. Bal(t)imoron 28 August 2008 at 9:15 pm #

    @ Brendan:

    the post entitled “Little Boys Pissing on the Detonators”, which honestly was a unique outburst, is doing that quite nicely. Now, pick a brunette, like Jeanette Lee, and I’ll bite.

  9. Brendan 29 August 2008 at 2:48 am #

    Sheesh. Little boys pissing. It’s awfully hard to like our species sometimes, isn’t it?

    And, ooh, never heard of her, but I can see what you mean.

  10. Bal(t)imoron 29 August 2008 at 6:39 am #

    @ Brendan:

    #2 is definitely what this site is about!

Comments are closed.

